While I’ve been asked to share my chronicles of fundraising, I want to do my part to represent all Top Fundraisers in Club 100. To do this I turned to my fellow Club 100 members to get some insight on what they do to raise INCREDIBLE amounts of money to further MS research and better the lives of MS patients across the US.

While I await their response to my informal survey, I wanted to share my answers and insight to several key questions. My hope is that I can get your fundraising juices flowing.

Q1: What’s the most important thing to remember when fundraising for BikeMS events?

A: To make a personal connection as to why you are participating and feel passionate about this cause. For me, it’s to raise funds that better the lives of MS patients like my wonderful mom Valorie and amazing wife Andrea.

Q2: What is the most successful fundraising tactic you use or have used in the past?

A: Through my company imc2 we hosted a charity golf tournament where we raised thousands to donate back to the MS Society. Some of the fundraising sources included player fees, sponsorship fees for every aspect of the tournament including goodie bags, meals, and raffle items.

Q3: What fundraising methods do you use?

A: Mail letters, emails to everyone, Facebook, and good old fashioned word of mouth. The MS Society offers some great tools to help you tackle almost all of these including form letter templates, email marketing tools, and tracking.

Q4: Any fundraising myths you want to debunk?

A: Your friends will avoid you at all costs. If you follow the advice in Q1, you will make it impossible for folks to ignore your passion for asking for $10+. Keep stressing that any amount is much appreciated and don’t be too pushy.

Q5: What’s more successful for you? Several big donations or many smaller donations?

A: My average donation is generally around $35 – $60 so the key is quantity with a few large donations. Many times you need to stress any size donation is the key and continually message this throughout your communications. Most people want to help but are prone to disqualify their target donation of $25 as being too little. One additional note is to remind folks to check into their company matching of personal donations to approved charities. This goes a very long way to reaching your fundraising goals.

I sincerely hope this helps you better understand how anyone can raise significant amounts of money without having rich friends or a few sugar daddy donors.

