Full Disclosure: In my day job, I am a Strategist at a marketing agency here in Dallas. My current client is a pharmaceutical company that is undergoing R&D for a new MS treatment. It’s exciting for me personally due to my growing passion to better the lives of those with MS.

As part of my work, I’ve been monitoring marketing research with a variety of MS patients from around the country. I’m currently three cities into a four city tour and have learned more than I ever thought I could about the daily lives of MS patients. Regardless of gender, age, life stage, or even progression of their MS they surprisingly have similar goals, struggles, and visions of hope.

While their struggles and hurdles are not new to me, it was insightful to see and hear these similarities given that I’ve experienced them with the MS patients in my personal life.

What’s encouraging is that beyond my clients efforts, there’s hope on the horizon. From new symptom-specific drugs, breakthrough devices, growing research funding, to a groundswell of supporters (like you) donating and participating in awareness & fund raising events like Bike MS, Walk MS, and many more.

Below are a few links I gathered from patients sharing where they go for research, encouragement, and general information online:

1.  National MS Society: Great organization with incredible resources and information on everything from how to get involved to living with MS.

2.  Myelin Repair Foundation: Exciting work and research driving towards the cure and/or reversal of MS.

3.  Shift.ms: An edgy, cool site geared at younger MS patients who want more interactive (video, social media, etc) and a voice similar to theirs, not the typical 40-50 something crowd.

4.  Active MS’ers: is designed to help, motivate, and inspire those with multiple sclerosis to stay as active as possible—physically, intellectually, and socially—regardless of physical limitations.

5.  MS News Today: Comprehensive and great way to stay plugged into all the news and happenings in MS research, funding, etc.

6.  MSunderstood: “the website on MS that doesn’t suck.”

7.  29 Gifts author Cami Walker: amazing book by an inspiring author. My wife described it like the Girlfriends Guide to MS. You understand this if you’ve read the Girlfriends Guides (to pregnancy, toddlers, etc).

8. Brain Cheese Blog: funny blog written by a MS patient. His description… “A forum of musings and adventures while traveling down the road with Multiple Sclerosis.”

9.  Last but definitely not least… Trevis Gleason’s blog: His name came up numerous times as a funny, helpful personality that others found interesting and engaging.

Enjoy,
Matt

